Who will be the Cricketer of the Year Awards 2023?

Who will be the Cricketer of the Year Awards 2023?
Who will be the Cricketer of the Year Awards 2023? Pix: Google

In a dazzling ceremony, the International Cricket Council (ICC) crowned the cricketing elite with the prestigious Cricketer of the Year Awards for 2023. Let’s dive into the triumphs and achievements of the players who clinched the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and other accolades across Test, ODI, and T20 formats.

Recognizing Excellence: Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy Recipients

Virat Kohli: A Stellar Year for the Indian Maestro

After being absent from the international cricket scene for an extended period, Virat Kohli made a comeback in the 2022 Asia Cup. Subsequently, in 2023, he clinched the prestigious ICC Cricketer of the Year award. His exceptional performance in Test and One Day International cricket earned him a top spot in the award’s preliminary list.

In the previous year, at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Kohli played an outstanding innings against Australia, scoring an unbeaten 186 runs in a Test match. This innings marked his first century in Tests since 2019, securing a place in the coveted list of century-makers. Kohli continued his remarkable Test form against West Indies, scoring a noteworthy 121 runs in an innings.

In addition to his Test achievements, Kohli displayed his prowess in One Day Internationals by accumulating six centuries in 2023 alone. His bat contributed significantly to the team’s success, making him a key player in the limited-overs format.

Notably, during the last World Cup, Kohli set a milestone by amassing 765 runs, including three centuries. This feat made him the highest run-scorer in a single World Cup, surpassing any previous records. If he manages to secure victory for the third time in the upcoming World Cup, Kohli will establish a new record in world cricket. Before this, he had won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy (ICC Cricketer of the Year) twice. A third victory would mark a historic achievement in the world of cricket.

Pat Cummins: Australian Captain’s Double Triumph

Pat Cummins, the dynamic Australian captain, receives recognition for steering his team to victory in both the Test Championship and the World Cup. Cummins’ strategic acumen and exceptional bowling make him a standout performer.

Ravindra Jadeja and Travis Head: Dynamic Duo’s Impactful Year

In the battle for awards, another prominent contender against Kohli is the versatile cricketer Ravindra Jadeja. In the 2022 Asia Cup, he returned to the field after recovering from a hamstring injury that sidelined him for 22 yards. Last year, in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Jadeja took 22 wickets, showcasing his prowess as a bowler.

In 2023, Jadeja displayed his batting skills in Test cricket, adding runs to his name. He also exhibited a commendable performance in One Day Internationals. In the recent World Cup, he claimed 16 wickets in a single day’s play. In 2023, his wicket tally in One Day Internationals reached 31, highlighting his effectiveness in the limited-overs format.

Format-Specific Brilliance: Test, ODI, and T20 Cricketers of the Year

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year 2023: A Mix of Spin and Class

Usman Khawaja and Travis Head, along with Ravichandran Ashwin and Joe Root, stand out as the finest in Test cricket for 2023. Their performances have added grace and substance to the longest format of the game.

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023: Virat Kohli Shines Bright

Virat Kohli’s six centuries in ODIs make him a standout performer, joined by Mohammed Shami, Shubman Gill, and Daryl Mitchell. Their contributions in the 50-over format have left an indelible mark on the cricketing landscape.

ICC T20 Cricketer of the Year 2023: Suryakumar Yadav Tops the Charts

Suryakumar Yadav, the Indian T20 sensation, secures the top spot in the ICC rankings. Alongside him, Sikandar Raza, Mark Chapman, and Alpesh Ramjani showcase their T20 prowess, creating fireworks on the shortest stage.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q1: How is the Cricketer of the Year determined?

A1: The Cricketer of the Year, including the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, is determined by the International Cricket Council (ICC) based on players’ performances across formats throughout the year.

Q2: What criteria are considered for the awards?

A2: The awards consider individual performances, leadership qualities, and contributions to team success in Test, ODI, and T20 cricket.

Q3: Are there any surprises in the award recipients for 2023?

A3: While some may find surprises in the recipients, the awards are a reflection of outstanding performances and contributions to their teams’ success throughout the year.

READ MORE: T20 World Cup 2024: India and Pakistan on Easy Group


In the world of cricket, 2023 will be remembered as the year of extraordinary achievements and remarkable performances. The Cricketer of the Year Awards, encompassing the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and various format-specific honors, highlight the talents that have illuminated the cricketing stage. As we bid farewell to this remarkable year, the cricketing world eagerly awaits the challenges and triumphs that the upcoming seasons will bring.

Leave a Comment