Indian Team for Asia Cup 2023, Returned two, one new face

 Indian Team for Asia Cup 2023. Pix: Google
Indian Team for Asia Cup 2023. Pix: Google

Anticipation Builds: India Announces Squad for Asia Cup 2023 Under Rohit Sharma’s Leadership

Cricket enthusiasts are abuzz with excitement as a significant announcement unfolded in Indian cricket. On Monday afternoon, the selection committee, led by Ajit Agarkar, unveiled the squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. The committee convened at the BCCI headquarters for this pivotal decision. Alongside the five selectors, the team’s coach Rahul Dravid and captain Rohit Sharma were also present. Rahul Dravid, a respected figure from the Bengaluru National Cricket Academy, joined the committee as an official.

During the committee meeting, vital information regarding the physical condition of the injured players was shared. Ajit Agarkar and Rohit Sharma later held a press conference to announce the squad’s composition.

India has announced a 17-member squad for the Asia Cup, marking a significant move ahead of the much-anticipated One-Day World Cup scheduled in the country. The inclusion of key players, Shreyas Iyer and Lokesh Rahul, who have recently recovered from injuries, adds strength to the team. The squad welcomes Tilak Varma as a new face. Sanju Samson has been retained as a reserve player.

In terms of wicketkeeper-batsmen, Rahul and Ishan Kishan secure their spots in the team. Prominent middle-order batters K.L. Rahul and Shreyas Iyer are expected to play pivotal roles. The return of promising young talent Tilak Varma, who is in excellent form in the West Indies, is a notable addition. Despite speculations about his inclusion, Mukesh Kumar’s name was not considered by the selectors, possibly owing to long-term plans for the upcoming World Cup.

Having overcome a prolonged injury, Prasidh Krishna makes a comeback to the squad after a commendable performance in the India-Ireland T20 series, displaying his good performance in bowling.

READ MORE: The Top Batsman Who Scored Most ODI Century While Chasing 300

The hybrid format of the tournament is a first in the history of the championship, bringing together Asia’s best teams – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal. Pakistan will play four matches as the host country, while other matches will be held in Sri Lanka.

India’s 17-Member Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Lokesh Rahul (Wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, Sanju Samson (Reserve).*

Leave a Comment