ICC World T20 Cup, Know all the players became Man of the Tournament


T20 World Cup Trophy, ICC World T20 Cup
T20 World Cup Trophy, PC: ICC

Who will be the next “Man Of The Tournament” in ICC World T20 cup 2021? To know that you have to wait up to the end of this world cup. But, let’s know the names who became “man of the tournament” in all previous ICC World T20 Cups.

Shahid Afridi: 2007 ICC World T20 Cup

Shahid Afridi of Pakistan was the “man of the tournament” for the first-ever ICC World T20 Cup South Africa 2007. 

There were four players for the finalist two team, India and Pakistan. Apart from Afridi, his teammate Misbah-ul-Haq, Younus Khan, captain of the Pakistan team Shoaib Malik and India’s six-hitting sensation Yuvraj Singh were among the player’s list. The all-rounder has received maximum votes, putting him in first place in the table.

With 12 wickets, leg-spinner Shahid Afridi is the second joint-leading wicket-taker with India’s RP Singh, Australia’s Stuart Clark. Four for 19 against Scotland at Kingsmead was his best bowling figure. Also, Afridi batted in a total of six innings in that ICC World T20 cup. He scored 91 runs in just 46 balls with a strick rate of 197.83. His highest score was 39, came against Bangladesh at Newlands. Boom Boom Afridi hit a total of four sixes in that tournament. But the Pakistan team became the runner-up in that inaugural ICC World T20 Cup. India became the champion of the first-ever 2007 world T20 cup winner.

Tillakaratne Dilshan: 2009 ICC World T20 Cup

Tillakaratne Dilshan was the player of the tournament in the 2009 ICC world T20 cup. England organizes that world cup. Though, his team Sri Lanka’s eight-wicket loss to Pakistan in the World Twenty20 final.

Dilshan, opening the batting throughout the world cup. He played seven innings and scoring 317 runs at a strike rate of 144.74 and an average of over 52. Dilshan played a total of 219 balls 2009 ICC World T20 Cup, and his strick rate was 144.75. Although, he got out on zero twice in that world cup. He struck three half-centuries, and his unbeaten 96 in the semi-final against the West Indies was the highest individual total of the tournament. That innings almost single-handedly carried Sri Lanka to a total, it could defend.

Dilshan also hit the most number boundaries than any other player, with 46 fours and three sixes in ICC World T20 Cup. That’s considerably ahead of the next hitter, South Africa’s Jacques Kallis, who had 28 fours and four sixes.

Kevin Pietersen: 2010 ICC World T20 Cup

Kevin Pietersen was the player of the tournament in the 2010 ICC world T20 cup. This time it was hosted in West Indies. England beat Australia in the final, and Pietersen played a crucial role with the bat. He sets the moment for the England team with his performance in that world cup.

In his six innings, Pietersen scored a total of 248 runs with an average of 62. Pietersen played 180 balls in that tournament. His strick rate was 137.77. At Kensington Oval, 73 not out against Pakistan was the highest score for Pietersen. He hit a total of 31 boundaries, including 24 fours and seven sixes. Although, Mahela Jayawardene was the highest run-scorer in that world cup. He scored 302 runs in six innings with one century and two half-centuries.

Shane Watson: 2012 ICC World T20 Cup

Australia all-rounder Shane Watson was awarded player of the tournament in ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012. Open the innings with David Warner thought out the world cup, Watson scored the highest number of runs in the tournament.

In his six innings, Watson scored 249 runs with an average of 49.80. He played a total of 166 balls, and the strick rate was 150. This Australia all-rounder hits 34 boundaries, including 19 fours and 15 sixes in that tournament. With three half-centuries, 72 runs against India at R Premadasa Stadium were the highest score in an inning by Watson. In bowling, his performance was high.

Watson was the second-highest wicket-taker of the world cup. He got 11 wickets in six matches. His balling average was 16 in the ICC worldT20 cup 2012.

The Australia all-rounder bowls 24 overs, had econ. of 7.33, and the strick rate was 9.6. His best bowling figure was three for 26 against Ireland at R Premadasa Stadium. His team was lost the semi-final, against West Indies despite this individual performance.

Virat Kohli: 2014 ICC World T20 Cup

Virat Kohli was the man of the tournament for the 2014 ICC World T20 cup. Bangladesh organized the world cup this time. Following his outstanding batsmanship, unanimously Kohli was selected by a committee hearing of specialists. Kohli scored 319 runs in six matches. His batting average was 106.33. He played 247 balls in the tournament, and his strick rate was 129.14. With three not-out innings, Kohli had four half-centuries in that tournament.

In the first match against Pakistan, Kohali scored 36 not out, then 54 against the West Indies. In the next match against Bangladesh, he scored 57 not-out, 23 against Australia. And in the semi-final a match-winning 72 not out against South Africa.

His highest individual score of 77 runs against Sri Lanka. That inning came into the final of the world cup at Shere Bangla National Stadium. The present Indian Captain hits 34 boundaries in that tournament, including them 24 was boundaries and ten over sixes. Despite all this glory, India loses the final against Sri Lanka in the 2014 ICC World T20 Cup.

Virat Kohli: 2016 ICC World T20 Cup

Again the Indian run-machine Virat Kohli became the man of the tournament in the 2016 World T20 cup.

The T20 world cup was played in India. And Kohli’s show was expected in that world cup. He did not disappoint the crazy cricket lover fans of India.

For his incredible run during the ICC World T20 Cup 2016, again Virat Kohli was awarded Player of the Tournament. Kohli came out with 273 runs from five matches. In five innings, Virat Kohli scored a total of 273 runs with an average of 136.50. He played 186 balls, and his strick rate was 146.77. Kohli had three half-centuries in that world cup. He hits a total of 34 boundaries, including 29 from that was fours and five sixes in the world T20 cup 2016.

In the first match against New Zealand at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Kohli scored 23 of 27 balls. In the next game, he played a beautiful 55 not-out against Pakistan at full-packed Eden Gardens. Against Bangladesh, at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, he scored only 24 runs. In the next match against Australia, at Punjab Cricket at Association IS Bindra Stadium, Virat guided India to the semi-final. He scored 82 not out in 52 balls.

The semi-final against West Indies was played in the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. But Virat played his best inning of the ICC T20 world cup 2016. He scored 89 not out in 47 balls.


3 thoughts on “ICC World T20 Cup, Know all the players became Man of the Tournament”

Leave a Comment